Australian Olympic Awardees

Recipients of the Olympic Order

The Olympic Order is the highest honorary award given by the International Olympic Committee (IOC). It is awarded to "any person who has illustrated the Olympic ideal through his action, has achieved remarkable merit in the sporting world or has rendered outstanding services to the Olympic Movement, either through his own personal achievement or his own contribution to the development of sport.”

The following Australians have been awarded the Olympic Order:

John Brown AO
Dawn Fraser AO MBE
Sydney B Grange AO OBE MVO (deceased)
William Berge Phillips OBE (deceased)
Julius L Patching AO OBE (deceased)
Betty Cuthbert AM MBE
Herb Elliott AC MBE
Shane Gould MBE
Geoffrey Henke AO
John Devitt AM
Brian Tobin AM
Stepan Kerkyasharian AO
Prof. Lowitja O'Donoghue AC CBE 
John D Coates AC (Gold)
The Hon. Michael Knight AO (Gold)
David Richmond AO (Gold)
Sandy Hollway AO
Jim Sloman OAM
Michael Eyers AM
Bob Leece AM (deceased)
Mick O'Brien AM
Robert Elphinston OAM
Margaret McLennan
Norman May AM (deceased)
John Fitzgerald AM (deceased) 
Shirley de la Hunty (Strickland) AO MBE (deceased)
Di Henry OAM
Harry Gordon CMG AM (deceased)
Catherine Freeman OAM
Peter Montgomery AM
The Hon John Howard OM AC (Gold)
Marjorie Nelson (Jackson) AC CVO MBE
Kerry Stokes AC 
Phillip W Coles AM 
Kevan Gosper AO 
Helen Brownlee AM

Olympic Diploma of Merit

The Olympic Diploma of Merit was awarded by the IOC to individuals with a general reputation for merit and integrity, and who had been active and efficient in the service of amateur sport and contributed substantially to the development of the Olympic Movement. It was awarded prior to 1975 and the inception of the Olympic Order.

The Olympic Diploma of Merit was awarded to former Prime Minister of Australia, Sir Robert Menzies KT AK CH QC (deceased).

IOC Pierre de Coubertin Medal

The Pierre de Coubertin Medal was created by the Internaional Olympic Committee in 1997 and named after Baron Pierre de Coubertin, the founder of the modern Olympic Games. The medal pays tribute to people and organisations who through their teaching contribute to the promotion of Olympism. 

Ronald G Harvey CVO AM was the first Australian recipient of this award in 2009. 

Recipients of the AOC Olympic Merit

The Australian Olympic Committee may award a person an Order of Merit who, in the opinion of the Executive has achieved remarkable merit in the sporting world, either through his personal achievement or his contribution to the development of sport.

Betty Cuthbert AM MBE
Herb Elliott MBE
John Devitt AM
Dawn Fraser MBE
Dennis Green BEM
Marjorie Nelson (Jackson) AO MBE AC
Marlene Mathews AO
Sir William Northam CBE (deceased)
Bill Roycroft OBE (deceased)
Tom Wigley (deceased)

Dr George Saunders MBE (deceased)
Doris Magee MBE (deceased)

Shirley de la Hunty (Strickland) AO MBE (deceased)
Lindsay Gaze OAM

Norman Gailey AM MBE (deceased)

Noel Wilkinson AM BEM(deceased)
Colin Coates

A Brian Corrigan AM
Kenneth D Fitch AM

Sir Donald Trescowthick AC KBE
Norman Rydge AM CBE OBE

Norman May AM

Michael Winneke (deceased) 
The Hon. Graham Richardson

John Stanley
David Zuker OAM

The Hon. John Fahey AC
The Hon. Bruce Baird AM 
The Hon. Frank Sartor AO
Roderick McGeoch AM
Robert Elphinston OAM

Dr Jean Roberts
Gary Pemberton AC

Wilf Barker (deceased)

Harry Gordon CMG AM (deceased)

Dr Brian Sando OAM (decreased)
Robert Thornton
The Hon. Michael Knight AO
Sandy Hollway AO
Michael Eyers AM
Jim Sloman OAM
Maurice Holland
Di Henry OAM
David Richmond AO
Bob Leece AM
Mick O'Brien AM
Peter Ryan QPM
Paul McKinnon

Rino Grollo

Dr Jacques Rogge

Ross Smith OAM

The Hon. Rod Kemp 
The Hon. Bob Ellicott QC

Tony Charlton AM (deceased)
David Fordham (deceased)
Bruce McAvaney OAM

Max Beck AM
John Conde AO
Robert Gerard AO

Michael Bushell
David Clarke AO (deceased)
Dr John Hewson AM
John McIntosh

Prof. Peter Fricker OAM 

H.E. Sheikh Ahmed Al-Fahad Al-Sabah
John Calvert-Jones AM
Gary Fenton
Peter Fox AM
Alan Grover
David Prince OAM
Gerry Ryan OAM

Laurie Lawrence
Gina Rinehart 

Dr. Thomas Bach

Herb Elliott's victory in the 1500 metres at the Rome Games in 1960. (Photo: IOC/Allsport)
Betty Cuthbert wins the 200m beating Christa Stubnik of Germany and Marlene Mathews of Australia at the 1956 Olympic Games in Melbourne. (Photo: Allsport)
Dawn Fraser at the 1964 Tokyo Olympic Games. (Photo: Getty Images)
Shirley Strickland her way to winning the 80m Hurdles in a new Olympic record time of 10.8 seconds at the 1956 Melbourne Olympics. (Photo: Getty Images)