Honour Roll WA

Life Members

Mr Cyril Kanair (deceased)
Mr Jack Howson OBE JP (deceased)
Mr Robert Hemery JP
Mr Keith Gaisford OAM

Winter Strickland Medal

The Winter Strickland Medal, an initiative of the Western Australian Olympic Council and Olympians Club of WA, was struck in 2004 to honour the achievements of WA’s first male and female Olympic Gold Medallists, the late John Winter, Athletics (48) and the late Shirley Strickland, Athletics, (48, 52, 56).
             John Winter   
                  Shirley Strickland

The medal is awarded for the Most Outstanding Performance by a Western Australian Olympian at the most recent Summer and Winter Olympic Games, as voted by Members of the Olympians Club of WA (including all WA Olympians and those Olympians who reside in WA).

Our appreciation to the WA Sports Federation for the opportunity to present the Award at their prestigious Sports Star Awards and to the Winter and Strickland family for their support in creating the honour. The winners are listed below;

2004 - Ryan Baley OAM
2008 - Steve Hooker OAM
2012 - Lauren Mitchell
2016 - Tamsin Cook


Olympians & Paralympians Walkway, Burswood Park

In conjunction with the Town of Victoria Park, Burswood Park Board and the Burswood Entertainment Complex, the Olympians & Paralympians Walkway was unveiled in 2001 bringing to fruition a long held desire to establish a permanent pubic site commemorating Western Australian Olympians and Paralympians. Also at this site is the “Keeping the Flame Alight” Sculpture, featuring Shirley Strickland AO MBE and Herb Elliott AC MBE.

The Walkway honours each Western Australian who has represented Australia in Olympic or Paralaympic Games and dates back to 1912 when Frank Schryver gained Australian Olympic selection as a Swimmer.

Olympians Walkway