Honour Roll


2018 Raymond Weinberg AM (Deceased)
2016 Nicholas Green OAM
2014 Kerri Tepper
2013 John Landy AC CVO MBE
2012 Tony Charlton AM (Deceased)
2010 Helen Smith AM
2009 Max Beck AM
2006 Kevan R Gosper AO
2002 Robert Lay AM
2001 Geoffrey Whitaker (Deceased)
2001 Sir Donald Trescowthick AC KBE
1998 James E Barry AM MBE
1997 Leon Wiegard OAM
1991 Geoffrey J Henke AO
1988 William J Hoffmann AM MBE
1986 Noel F Wilkinson AM BEM (Deceased)
1979 Julius L Patching AO OBE (Deceased)
1975 Sir Edgar S Tanner KT CBE ED (Deceased)
1975 William T Uren CBE (Deceased)



2018 Nicole Livingstone OAM
2017 David Thodey AO
2014 Peter Doak OAM
2014 Luke Soulos
2013 Peter Fox AM
2013 John Wylie AM
2012 Ivan Gaal
2011 Jeannette Duggan
2011 Geoff Duggan
2010 Ray Weinberg AM
2010 Jenny Holliday
2009 Geoff Henke AO
2009 Shirley Harris OAM
2007 James E Barry AM MBE
2007 Leon Wiegard OAM
2007 Wayne Carroll
2007 Ian Browne OAM
2007 Peter Blackburn
2006 Darren Dunkley-Smith (Deceased)
2005 Damian Brown
2003 Phil Francis
2002 Gillian Brewster
2002 Wendy Grant
2000 Tony Charlton AM (Deceased)
1999 Peter Norman (Deceased) 
1998 Geoffrey Whitaker (Deceased)
1997 Jim Hardie (Deceased)


David Wansbrough and Mack Horton

VOC President, David Wansbrough OAM presents Mack Horton OAM with the Wilfrid Kent Hughes Award.


Wilfrid Kent Hughes Award

Sir Wilfrid Kent Hughes, KGE MVO DSC MC ED 1885-1970, will be remembered as Chairman of the 1956 Melbourne Olympic Games Organising Committee, for his great love of sport and for his contribution to the Victorian and Australian Olympic Movement. He was without doubt a great Australian, a soldier, an Olympian, a Statesman, and a true administrator.

To perpetuate his outstanding contribution, the Victorian Olympic Council selects the most outstanding performance by a Victorian Olympian at each Olympic Games to receive the Wilfrid Kent Hughes Award.

A perpetual plaque now on permanent display in the foyer of the VOC office is etched with the recipients name and a replica plaque awarded to the recipient.

While it is indeed daunting to select a single Victorian’s performance as the most outstanding among those at any Olympic Games, the list of winners is a true representation of Victoria’s contribution to Australia’s proud Olympic history.


2016 Kim Brennan AM and Mack Horton OAM
2014 David Morris
2012 Kim Crow
2010 Lydia Lassila
2008 Leisel Jones
2006 Dale Begg-Smith
2004 Drew Ginn and James Tomkins
2002 Alisa Camplin
2000 Catherine Freeman
1996 The Mens Coxless Four Rowing Team:
       Mike McKay, Nicholas Green, James Tomkins, Drew Ginn
1992 Kathy Watt
1988 Debbie Flintoff-King
1984 Dean Woods
1980 Richard Mitchell and John Sumegi
1976 Douglas Golder and James Irvine
1972 Raelene Boyle
1968 Ralph Doubell
1964 Dawn Fraser
1960 Herb Elliott
1956 Ian Browne and Anthony Marchant
1952 Russell Mockridge