• Home
  • Pierre de Coubertin Awards

Pierre de Coubertin Awards in 2019...

A very important part of the QOC's charter is the focus on education – both with the community and the school system. This is a means of diffusing to the public the spirit of the Olympic movement, its ideals and philosophy.

The Queensland Olympic Council also supports both Primary and Secondary Schools by assisting to arrange for Olympians to attend school speech nights, sports awards, school assemblies and general school visits throughout Queensland. Our Olympic athletes are seen as heroes by these children and act as wonderful role models for our future Olympic Champions. The main education initiatives include the Pierre de Coubertin Awards, detailed below, and the Latch ON program>>> 

Pierre de Coubertin Awards in 2019

Calling all Australian Olympic-Change Makers...

In an exciting development, we are delighted to share with you the new direction of this awards program which will allow greater opportunity for schools nationally to be engaged in this program.

Please refer to the following letter on behalf of Australian Olympic Committee CEO, Matt Carroll AM – CLICK HERE.

Further details will be available in early June. In the interim, please contact pdc@olympics.com.au to update your contact details. 

We look forward to having you engaged in this revised program as we journey towards Tokyo 2020.

 2018 Pierre de Coubertin Awards Ceremony


Past Recipients

Past recipients of the Award include a number of Olympians:
1996 Jade Winter, Ashley Callus, Jamie Dwyer and Courtney Atkinson
1998 Angie Skirving
1999 Suzie Fraser and Grant Sorensen
2000 Damian Istria
2001 Deborah Lovely and Alana Boyd
2002 Jessicah Schipper, Nicholas Sprenger, Jane Moran and Alicia Coutts
2003 Christian Sprenger
2004 Meagan Nay
2005 Tiffany Day and Bronte Barratt
2007 Emma Jackson
2008 Bianca Hammett
2009 Leiston Pickett and Brittany Elmslie
2010 Tessa Wallace
2011 Cameron McEvoy
2012 Cedric Dubler
2016 Cristina Sheehan