• Home
  • News
  • Trengove delivers greatest Australian marathon performance

Trengove delivers greatest Australian marathon performance

7 August 2017

ATHLETICS: The sun is shining in London (GBR) once more, with Jessica Trengove (SA) crossing a stunning ninth place in the women’s marathon on day three of the 2017 IAAF World Championships.

Stopping the clock at 2:28:59, the fastest ever by an Australian woman at the world titles, the performance is also the best ever female placing. She joins Rob de Castella and Steve Moneghetti as one of three green and gold athletes to finish among the top-ten at the IAAF World Championships.

“I’m feeling happy, it’s a few positions higher than my race in Moscow in 2013. Also, just to feel good out there, it was my first race that I felt like I could respond to the surges and be in control. It was great,” Trengove said.

“The support for the Australians was unbelievable as always. We have such a great network of support staff, you never feel alone out there. That’s what I love about running for Australia. I knew I had my family and friends at home running with me. I’m sharing a room with Eloise Wellings, she was out there. It was just incredible.

“This is my ninth marathon, and I have a little thing about number nine. It’s my brother’s footy number. My coach,Adam (Didyk) wrote me a little letter before the race saying that he thought there was something special about it so to actually cross ninth is actually a bit of a fairytale.”

As we look ahead to the 2018 Commonwealth Games, Trengove’s place in the top-16 also ensures her Priority Status for nomination for selection by Commonwealth Games Australia to compete on the Gold Coast (Qld).

Not to be outdone, Sinead Diver (Vic) and Milly Clark (NSW) were also outstanding, ensuring three green and gold charges among the top-25.

Diver crossed the line 20th, one place better than her result at Beijing 2015 two years ago, in a time of 2:33:26, while Clark recaptured her Olympic Games form to cross the line 24th in 2:35:27.

“I’m so happy with that. It was such a tough race, and I’m pretty happy with 20th, my time was good, too,” Diver said.

“The pace was a bit slow early on. It was nice to run with Jess for a little bit, we had a bit of a chat at 15 kilometres, so that was cool. I’m so proud of Jess, and of course Milly.

“I saw my whole family out on the course, that was cool. There was so much support. It was such a wonderful experience.”

The women’s marathon was won by Rose Chelimo (BRN) in a season best time of 2:27:11, with Edna Kiplagat(KEN, 2:27:18) winning silver and Amy Cragg (USA, 2:27:18) the bronze.

In the men’s marathon earlier in the day, it was Jack Colreavy (NSW) that faired best as he placed 45th in a time of 2:21.44.

A high school friend of para-athletics world champion Evan O’Hanlon, Colreavy was making his debut at these IAAF World Championships and competing in only his third ever marathon.

Brad Milosevic (NSW) was the next to cross in 60th (2:25:14), but Josh Harris (Tas) did not finish after withdrawing shortly prior to 20 kilometres. The gold medal was won by Geoffrey Kirui (KEN) in 2:08:27.

For more information on Team Australia, please click here to visit the hub at athletics.com.au.

Athletics Australia

Related News

Robyn Maher and Drew Ginn Honoured at Hall of Fame Awards

Robyn Maher and Drew Ginn Honoured at Hall of Fame Awards

12 October 2018

SPORT HALL OF FAME: It’s the greatest gathering of sporting royalty in Australia as Olympic legends mix with the greats of every sport in the country.

Peter Norman Honoured with Lakeside Stadium Statue

Peter Norman Honoured with Lakeside Stadium Statue

9 October 2018

Australia’s 200 metre sprint record holder, the late Peter Norman, will be honoured with the striking of a bronze statue at Lakeside Stadium in Melbourne...

Aussie World Cup Sevens squads announced

Aussie World Cup Sevens squads announced

12 July 2018

Australia’s Sevens sides have named their strongest squads for next week’s Rugby World Cup Sevens with a host of players shaking off injuries to make the trip to San Francisco.

Related Sports