• Home
  • News
  • Sevens squads named for Oceania Sevens

Sevens squads named for Oceania Sevens

7 November 2016

RUGBY SEVENS: Qantas Australian Women’s Head Coach Tim Walsh has chosen a mix of youth and Gold medal experience for the Oceania Sevens Championship, while Qantas Australian Men’s Sevens Head Coach Andy Friend is throwing open opportunities for young players to vie for selection in his final 2016/17 squad.

The two-day tournament will be played in Suva on November 11-12.

Friend has named a squad that includes a raft of young up and coming talent with only two players older than 22 years of age making the trip across the Pacific.

With one eye on re-building the Aussie 7s Men’s team in the post 2016 Rio Olympic Games era, Friend has urged his young charges to take their opportunities.

The Qantas Australian Women’s Sevens team will give young squad members Georgie Friedrichs, Emma Sykes, Hannah Southwell and the recently signed Shanice Parker the chance to mix with Australia’s Olympic heroes when the tournament kicks off next Friday.

With less than a month until the opening round of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series gets underway on December 1, Walsh wants his charges to continue their progression following on from their victory at the Central Coast Sevens in October.

“We have had a great preparation period leading into this tournament and we are looking forward to continuing to build momentum towards Dubai," Walsh said.

“We know that this tournament is going to be incredibly tough and we will need to adapt to the challenges that come our way.

“For our young players such as Georgie, Emma, Hannah and Shanice, this tournament is only going to add to their growing experience at International level and hold them in good stead moving forward.”   

Qantas Australian Men’s Head Coach, Andy Friend said: “We are in a unique period for the Australian Men’s Sevens team having been through a changing of the guard after Rio.

“For a coach it’s an exciting period as we move to create the building blocks for a strong team for the future.

“We have seen players really stand up and be counted at training but now is the time for that to translate to the field and we are looking forward to what the Oceania Rugby Sevens Championship has to throw at us.”

The Oceania Rugby Sevens Championship kicks off on Friday 11 November in Suva, Fiji.

Australian Men’s Squad:  
John Porch (C)
Sam Croke
Bennett Leslie
Conor Mitchell
Tom Connor
Liam McNamara
Josh Coward
Mick Adams
Charlie Taylor
Alex Gibbon
Simon Kennewell
Sam Caslick

Australian Women’s Squad:  
Shannon Parry (c)
Sharni Williams (c)
Tiana Penitani
Mahalia Murphy
Emma Tonegato
Emma Sykes
Hannah Southwell
Shanice Parker
Brooke Anderson
Alicia Quirk
Georgie Friedrichs

Related News

Australian Team announced for Gymnastics World Cup in Melbourne

Australian Team announced for Gymnastics World Cup in Melbourne

19 February 2019

Australia’s top gymnasts are preparing to take on the world’s best in front of a home crowd this week at the Individual Apparatus Artistic Gymnastics World Cup in Melbourne

Kookaburras & Hockeyroos continue winning form on and off the field

Kookaburras & Hockeyroos continue winning form on and off the field

18 February 2019

HOCKEY: Both the Hockeyroos and Kookaburras claimed wins over Great Britain on the weekend, before players were honoured at the 2018 Hockeyroos and Kookaburras Player of the Year awards.

The power of 'What if'?

The power of 'What if'?

15 February 2019

Some of life’s great triumphs and innovations have emanated from the simple question – what if? It’s that same question that brought an all but retired Amie Thompson back to the pool as she now prepares to go bigger, better and bolder than ever before.