• Home
  • News
  • Olympians honoured in Cycling Australia Hall of Fame

Olympians honoured in Cycling Australia Hall of Fame

11 November 2015

CYCLING: The Cycling Australia Hall of Fame will see 12 inaugural inductees honoured at the CA awards night in Melbourne on Friday. Of the nine athletes seven are Olympians.

The further three general category selections include former Olympic coach Charlie Walsh, Sydney 2000 Competition Manager Ray Godkin and Gerry Ryan, who has been recognised by the Asuatralian Olympic Committee for contributions to elite cycling.   

The Cycling Australia Hall of Fame inductees 2015 are:

  • 1. Sir Hubert Opperman OBE KCSJ (Athlete category, posthumous)
  • 2. Russell Mockridge (Athlete category, posthumous) - Olympian
  • 3. Edgar ‘Dunc' Gray (Athlete category, posthumous) - Olympian
  • 4. Sid Patterson (Athlete category, posthumous)
  • 5. Phil Anderson (Athlete category)
  • 6. Kathy Watt OAM (Athlete category) - Olympian
  • 7. Anna Wilson (Athlete category) - Olympian
  • 8. Robbie McEwen (Athlete category) - Olympian
  • 9. Sara Carrigan OAM (Athlete category) - Olympian
  • 10. Ray Godkin OAM (General category)
  • 11. Charlie Walsh OAM (General category) 
  • 12. Gerry Ryan OAM (General category)

“Cycling has etched an indelible mark on the Australian sporting landscape and the Cycling Australia Hall of Fame allows us to celebrate those who have contributed to the success of Australian cycling over the past 100 years,” said Nicholas Green OAM, CEO of Cycling Australia.

“The inaugural group of inductees exemplify those that have achieved greatness or reached the pinnacle of our great sport - the best of the best - and on behalf of Cycling Australia, I congratulate them on their selection into this elite group.

“I would also like to thank Selection Chairman Peter Bartels AO and the entire committee, on their tireless effort in establishing the Hall of Fame, and what was certainly a challenging process given the depth of talent in our sport,” Green added.

Sir Hubert Opperman headlines the inaugural selections with Oppy capturing the nation’s attention almost 90 years ago with his endurance feats across the world.  The Sir Hubert ‘Oppy’ Opperman Medal & Trophy is currently presented annually to the Australian Cyclist of the Year.

The posthumous inductees also include Edgar ‘Dunc' Gray, Australia’s first cyclist to win Olympic gold, dual 1952 Olympic gold medallist Russell Mockridge and multiple world champion Sid Patterson. 

“Opperman’s feats in Europe saw him crowned the sports star of the year in France in 1931, while Dunc Gray became our first cyclist to win an Olympic gold medal (1932, 1km time trial),” said Selection Committee Chairman Peter Bartels AO.

“Mockridge and Patterson were great rivals, and sometimes teammates, who brought the best out in each other. Mockridge winning two gold medals in one day at the 1952 Olympics, while Patterson extraordinary feat of winning both sprint and individual pursuit world titles, serve the test of time.”

Also to be inducted is the first ever non-European to wear the yellow jersey at the Tour de France in Phil Anderson, 1992 Olympic Games gold medallist Kathy Watt OAM and dual UCI World Cup winner Anna Wilson.

Along with Robbie McEwen, who boasts 24 Grand Tour stage victories and 2004 Olympic Games gold medallist Sara Carrigan OAM.

“In the biggest race of them all, Anderson and McEwen broke new ground. Phil being the first ever non-European to wear the yellow jersey makes him a significant figure on a global scale,” Bartels said.

“And Robbie was the first Australian to win the green jersey at the Tour, which he did three times, along with 12 stage victories, putting him among the greats of the sport.”

“Kathy’s victory in the road race at the 1992 Olympic Games, is one of the iconic moments in the history of Australian sport and that Olympic success was repeated by Sara in 2004.

“And Anna, she was the best in the world as a dual winner of the season long Women’s World Cup crowning her the world’s number one ranked cyclist.”

Recognised in the general category for their ‘off the bike’ contributions to the success of the sport are Ray Godkin, Charlie Walsh and Gerry Ryan.

“Ray has been a key figure in Australian and world cycling for more than 30 years, playing a key part in the merging of the professional and amateur bodies of the sports, as well as establishing a cycling program at the Australian Institute of Sport,” explained Bartels.

“Charlie’s contribution to setting new standards in Australian track cycling, leading us to Olympic, Commonwealth and World Championship success is unprecedented.

“While Gerry has been a cornerstone of the sport for the past 20-years, most recently as the creator of two world class teams, the women’s Orica-AIS team and the Orica-GreenEDGE men’s team.

For Bartels, and the selection committee, the biggest challenge they faced was the selections themselves and leaving out some of the greats of the sport in the first set of inductions.

“There are many more riders worthy of being in the Cycling Australia Hall of Fame but we can’t induct everyone at once, and we looking forward to unveiling more great members in the coming years,” Bartels added.

Cycling Australia Hall of Fame Committee selected riders and/or officials.

Riders are only eligible for induction into the Cycling Australia Hall of Fame after two years in retirement, from competition at the highest level.

A section of the High Performance Unit Headquarters at the Adelaide Super-Drome will be dedicated to the Cycling Australia Hall of Fame, with a special section devoted to the Hall of Fame to feature on the Cycling Australia website. 

Cycling Australia

Related News

Robyn Maher and Drew Ginn Honoured at Hall of Fame Awards

Robyn Maher and Drew Ginn Honoured at Hall of Fame Awards

12 October 2018

SPORT HALL OF FAME: It’s the greatest gathering of sporting royalty in Australia as Olympic legends mix with the greats of every sport in the country.

Peter Norman Honoured with Lakeside Stadium Statue

Peter Norman Honoured with Lakeside Stadium Statue

9 October 2018

Australia’s 200 metre sprint record holder, the late Peter Norman, will be honoured with the striking of a bronze statue at Lakeside Stadium in Melbourne...

Olympians share their wisdom with Buenos Aires 2018 Team

Olympians share their wisdom with Buenos Aires 2018 Team

4 October 2018

This week, 88 young athletes from all over Australia embarked on their journey to the Buenos Aires 2018 Youth Olympic Games, but not before being mentored and inspired by Olympians Bronte Campbell, Brandon Starc and Jess Thornton.