• Home
  • News
  • National and Commonwealth records broken at Australian Swimming Championships

National and Commonwealth records broken at Australian Swimming Championships

11 April 2019

SWIMMING: Both National and Commonwealth records continued to be broken at the 2019 Australian Swimming Championships, with the competition due to wrap up on Friday 12 April.

Three-time Olympic medalist Kyle Chalmers was victorious in the Men’s 200m Freestyle, where he defeated Elijah Winnington by .61 seconds. Clyde Lewis finished just over one second behind Winnington to claim third.

Guyy swimming

In the Women’s 50m Freestyle, Cate Campbell narrowly defeated Shayna Jack and Bronte Campbell. The triple Olympian edged Jack and Campbell in a tight race, with all three swimmers finishing within .21 seconds of each other.  

Meanwhile, Jenna Strauch set a personal best time in the 200m Women’s Breaststroke in victory over Abby Harkin who claimed silver and Zoe Deacon who won bronze.  

Minna Atherton won her first national title in the 200m backstroke, finishing first with a time of 2:11:18. In an extremely tight race, Atherton defeated Calypso Sheridan by just .05 seconds with Mikkayla Sheridan finishing in third

In another close race, Mitch Larkin won his 17th national title, winning gold in the Men’s 400m Individual Medley. Larkin defeated Brendon Smith by .29 seconds with Kieran Breakers earning bronze.

Larkin then was atop the podium once again in the 200m Individual Medley, his third national title at the championships. The Rio Olympian broke away from the pack with more than 25 meters to go. Larkin would end up defeating Matthew Wilson by more than two seconds with Jared Gilliland placing third.  

Wilson would get a victory though, in the Men’s 100m Breaststroke, pulling away from Zac Stubblety-Cook and Daniel Cave about a quarter of the way through the race.  

It was a clean sweep for St. Peters Western in the Men’s and Women’s 4x200m Freestyle Relay. The Women’s team, consisting of Shayna Jack, Abby Harkin, Youth Olympian Michaela Ryan and Ariane Titmus set an Australian record of 7:57.03 en route to victory, while their male teammates of Larkin, Lewis, Max Carleton & Jacob Hansford also claimed gold.

TSS Aquatic's Cameron McEvoy, David Morgan, Max Osborn and Joshua Paris along with Madeleine Gough, Laura Taylor, Charlotte Mitchell and Kiah Melverton swept the silvers while St. Peters Western added a bronze as their second team of Meg Harris, Sienna McDonald, Nicola Hoskin and Elly O'Donoghue finished third in the Women’s edition.

St. Peters Western continued its dominance in the team events, winning both the men’s and women’s on consecutive nights. 

It was a convincing performance from Ariane Titmus in Women’s 200m freestyle, as she set an Australian and Commonwealth record by finishing in 1:54.30. The 18-year-old, having already won the 800m and 4x100m Freestyle Relays, won the race over Emma McKeon by 1.7 seconds and Madison Wilson by 2.6.  

girl swimming

In the Women’s 1500m Freestyle, Kiah Melverton beat Maddy Gough in the final few strokes, winning by .17 seconds. Sophie Caldwell touched in third for bronze about 30 seconds behind the leaders.

Seventeen-year-old Youth Olympian Kaylee McKeown added another victory to her 2018 national championships’ campaign, finishing first in the Women’s 50m Backstroke. Minna Atherton and Holly Barratt finished second and third, respectively. 

Related News

Tahli Moore - The curveball that changed my life

Tahli Moore - The curveball that changed my life

23 April 2019

Softballer Tahli Moore was on the cusp of reaching the prime of her career, before she was dealt both a career and life-threatening blow, leaving the game she loved, completely off-limits.

National Swimming Champs wrap up as legends go back in time

National Swimming Champs wrap up as legends go back in time

17 April 2019

The 2019 National Swimming Championships ended with a bang when Australian Olympians spanning several decades came together for the Legends Relay, finalising a record-breaking competition with some exciting nostalgia

Fox continues unbeaten C1 run at Pyrenees Cup

Fox continues unbeaten C1 run at Pyrenees Cup

16 April 2019

Australia’s Canoe Slalom Olympians set an early mark ahead of the 2019 World Cup and Olympic qualification season with dual Olympic medallist and reigning C1 World Champion and 2018 World Cup winner Jessica Fox continuing her record-breaking unbeaten run in the women’ C1, while Rio Olympian Lucien Delfour finished second in the men’s K1 at the Pyrenees Cup in Spain over the weekend.