• Home
  • News
  • Kenny and Kavanagh take home big awards

Kenny and Kavanagh take home big awards

8 November 2016

HOCKEY: The Hockey Australia annual athlete awards took place in Perth on Monday evening, with Jodie Kenny and Fergus Kavanagh crowned the Hockeyroos and Kookaburras Players of the Year.

For Kavanagh, it capped of a tremendous career which saw him reach 231 caps for the Kookaburras over a ten-year international playing career. For Kenny, it was a back to back win after she was named the Hockeyroos Player of the Year in 2015.

Kenny, who is currently taking some time out in Queensland, commented: “I would have loved to have been there tonight to collect this amazing award, as it’s something that I’m extremely proud of. It was a tough year both physically and mentally, and now that I’ve had time to reflect it makes me appreciate it even more.

“To take out this award twice in a row, when there are so many high-quality players in the team is an absolute privilege, and I have my team and my coaching staff to thank for continually pushing me to be my best.”

The awards for top goal scorers of the year were also awarded this evening, with retiree and Kookaburras most capped player Jamie Dwyer taking out the award after scoring a massive 21 goals through-out the year’s competition. It was a tie for the women’s top goal scorer, with Crookwell’s Emily Smith and South Stirling’s Kathryn Slattery taking away the title on 13 goals each.

Rachael Lynch and Tristan Clemons were awarded the inaugural Personal Excellence Award – a new award for off-field success in either study, work or community activities, coupled with their diligence in their approach to their hockey, and their teammates and coaches.

Both winners received a cash donation which will go to the charity of their choice, with Lynch choosing R U OK? and Clemons choosing the Fiona Wood Foundation.

Hockey Australia Chief Executive Cam Vale said: “It has been an incredible year for Australian hockey, with the Champions Trophy and Rio Olympic Games taking place. We have some of the best players in the world at the moment, and after such a busy year it’s fantastic that we get to take some time out to celebrate their achievements.

“I would like to personally congratulate Jodie and Fergus on winning Player of the Year for the Hockeyroos and the Kookaburras, as well as to congratulate the other award winners, and all athletes and coaches for their dedication, work and the time away from family and friends that they have put into hockey this year.”

The evening also incorporated the Perth leg of the Hockey Australia Hall of Fame, with Roslyn Noel, Stephen Davies, Jenn Morris and Gordon Pearce all honoured with their induction into the Hall of Fame at tonight’s event to recognise their achievements within the sport.

In addition to the Hall of Fame inductions, John Leece was also honoured with an Award of Merit, while Rechelle Hawkes who was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2010 was awarded with Legend Status. This new award goes to those who have already been inducted in to the Hall of Fame and shows the extraordinary achievements they have made in going above and beyond to promote the sport of Hockey.

Full List of Award winners:

Kookaburras Player of the Year
Fergus Kavanagh

Hockeyroos Player of the Year
Jodie Kenny

Kookaburras Highest Goal Scorer
Jamie Dwyer

Hockeyroos Highest Goal Scorer
Emily Smith and Kathryn Slattery

Inaugural Personal Excellence Award
Rachael Lynch and Tristan Clemons

Hall of Fame Inductees
Stephen Davies
Jenn Morris
Roslyn Noel (nee Fisher)
Gordon Pearce

Award of Merit
John Leece

Legend Status
Rechelle Hawkes


Related News

Olympians shine at VIC Sport Awards

Olympians shine at VIC Sport Awards

21 February 2019

Olympians Scotty James and Melissa Tapper were honoured at the VIC Sport Awards on Wednesday night, both taking out the top gong, Governor's Award - Victorian Male and Female Athlete of the Year.

BMX Freestyle ramp up Olympic prep with visit to Aus Cycling Team HQ

BMX Freestyle ramp up Olympic prep with visit to Aus Cycling Team HQ

14 February 2019

With the Olympic debut of BMX Freestyle Park now less than 18 months away, Australia’s Logan Martin and Brandon Loupos have ramped up their preparations with a visit to the Australian Cycling Team Headquarters in Adelaide.

Olympians inspire Cranebrook High at Olympics Unleashed

Olympians inspire Cranebrook High at Olympics Unleashed

8 February 2019

If the excitement around Cranebrook High School in Penrith was any indication, the Olympics Unleashed program is set to have a major impact on secondary students right across NSW.

Related Games

Rio 2016

Rio 2016

London 2012

London 2012

Related Sports



Related Olympians

Jodie Kenny

Fergus Kavanagh
Fergus Kavanagh

Fergus Kavanagh