• Home
  • News
  • Dolphins wrap on World Short Course

Dolphins wrap on World Short Course

17 December 2018

SWIMMING: The Australian Dolphins have finished up with 12 medals at the 14th FINA World Swimming Championships in Hangzhou, after picking up two bronze medals on the final night of racing.

The Dolphins got off to a great start on the final evening with a bronze in the women’s 4x50m freestyle relay of Holly Barratt (Rockingham) (24.04), Emily Seebohm (Brisbane Grammar) (24.10), Minna Atherton (Brisbane Grammar) (24.02) and Carla Buchanan (Acacia Bayside) (24.18) in 1:36.34.

When asked about winning a medal with the team, Seebohm said,

“It's always fun. I just really try to enjoy it because you don't get many opportunities to race with these girls and race against the best in the world."

Mitch Larkin (St Peters Western) won a bronze in the men’s 200m backstroke in a tie with Poland’s Radoslaw Kawecki in 1:48.25.

Immediately after the race Larkin said,

“It has been a really good week. It has been a big year and to finish off on the podium in the green and gold is pretty awesome.

“There are some great backstrokers here. The depth is amazing,” he added.

Mitch Larkin

Barratt also backed it up in the women’s 50m freestyle and touched in fifth in a time of 23.92.

The men’s 4x100m medley relay quartet of Larkin (49.47), Grayson Bell (TSS Aquatic) (58.20), Nic Brown (UWA West Coast) (50.53) and Cam McEvoy (TSS Aquatic) (46.45) finished eighth in their final in 3:24.65, 0.19 off the Australian record.

The women’s 4x100m medley of Atherton, Jess Hansen (Nunawading), Seebohm and Ariarne Titmus (St Peters Western) touched in third but were disqualified for transitioning too quickly from the breaststroke to the butterfly leg of the race.

The medley result was a disappointing end to an otherwise incredible campaign for 18-year-old Titmus, who claimed two gold medals throughout the meet, along with a new world record in the women’s 400m freestyle.


1st - Ariarne Titmus - 400m freestyle, 200m freestyle

2nd - Holly Barratt - 50m butterfly
2nd - Thomas Fraser-Holmes - 400m individual medley

3rd - Holly Barratt - 50m backstroke
3rd - Jessica Hansen - 100m breaststroke
3rd - Minna Atherton - 100m backstroke
3rd - Emily Seebohm - 200m backstroke
3rd - Alexander Graham - 200m freestyle
3rd - Mitch Larkin - 200m backstroke
3rd - Titmus, Atherton, Buchanan, Harkin - 4x200m freestyle relay
3rd - Barratt, Seebohm, Atherton, Buchanan - 4x50m freestyle relay

4th - Mitch Larkin - 100m backstroke
4th - Mitch Larkin - 200m individual medley
4th - McEvoy, Jones, Bell, Townsend - 4x50m freestyle relay

5th - McEvoy, Townsend, Gerrard, Graham - 4x100m freestyle relay
5th - Holly Barrat - 50m freestyle
5th - Atheron, Hansen, Barratt, Seebohm - 4x50m medley relay

6th - Cameron McEvoy - 50m freestyle
6th - Jessica Hansen - 50m breaststroke
6th - Emily Seebohm - 100m backstroke
6th - Emily Seebohm - 100m individual medley
6th - Emily Seebohm - 200m individual medley
6th - McEvoy, Jones, Barratt, Seebohm - mixed 4x50m freestyle 

7th - Abbey Harkin - 200m individual medley
7th - Nic Brown - 200m butterfly

8th - Larkin, Bell, Jones, McEvoy - 4x50m freestyle relay
8th - Larkin, Bell, Brown, McEvoy - 4x100m medley relay

15th - Carla Buchanan - 100m freestyle

Swimming Australia

Related News

Aussie athletes claim victory across the globe

Aussie athletes claim victory across the globe

20 May 2019

Australia's athletes continued their strong run of success, finding the podium at several events over the weekend and pushing for more this week.

Pearson leads the charge for the Aussies in Asia

Pearson leads the charge for the Aussies in Asia

20 May 2019

A group of Aussies have been in good form across the weekend in two meets in Asia. On Saturday, Shanghai hosted the second leg of the Diamond League circuit, while on Sunday, Osaka was the venue for the Seiko Golden Grand Prix.

Matildas squad for 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup announced

Matildas squad for 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup announced

14 May 2019

Matildas Head Coach Ante Milicic today confirmed the 23 players selected in Australia’s squad for the eighth FIFA Women’s World Cup.