• Home
  • News
  • Aussie team for final Sevens tournament

Aussie team for final Sevens tournament

19 May 2017

RUGBY SEVENS: The Australian Men’s Sevens team has been named for the final leg of the 2016/17 World Series, with coach Andy Friend making just two changes for the London tournament beginning on May 20.

Tom Kingston is back in the starting twelve after originally named as 13th man for Paris, although the 25-year old did feature on day one in France after an injury to John Porch.

Speedster Brandon Quinn is the other change, as he returns to the lineup for the first time since Vancouver in March.

Australia are currently sixth on the HSBC Sevens World Series standings as they hunt down USA for fifth, with the season to come to a close after London.

Qantas Australian Men’s Sevens Head Coach Andy Friend said: “We have a great opportunity to finish the season off strong in London, in what's been a great year of regeneration for this young side.

"Brandon Quinn comes into the side, he's got great speed so we'll be looking to utilise that on the edges. Tom (Kingston) has been involved for the last three tournaments so he knows what to expect, and what's expected of him.

“We want to get back into the top eight in London after a disappointing weekend in Paris. We have a tough pool and I know all the boys are keen to bounce back into the quarters, the semis and beyond."

Australia are in Pool D alongside England, Samoa and Spain with games LIVE across FOX Sports platforms.

Qantas Australia Men's fixtures, London:
Saturday 13 May
Australia v Samoa, 8.42pm AEST

Sunday 14 May
Australia v England, 12.10am AEST
Australia v Spain, 2.54am AEST

Qantas Australian Sevens squad named for London Sevens:
1. Tom Kingston, 12 caps Club: Sydney University NSW
2. Simon Kennewell, 8 caps, Club: Randwick NSW
3. Nick Malouf, 27 caps, Club: Sydney University NSW
4. Alex Gibbon, 14 caps, Club: Southern Districts NSW
5. James Stannard (c), 40 caps, Club: Souths QLD
6. John Porch, 8 caps, Club: Northern Suburbs NSW
7. Tim Anstee, 9 caps, Club: Eastwood NSW
8. Dylan Pietsch, 4 caps, Club: Randwick NSW
9. Boyd Killingworth, 12 caps, Club: Warringah NSW
10. Liam McNamara, 6 caps, Club: Sunnybank QLD
11. Brandon Quinn, 3 caps, Club: Gordon NSW
12. Lachie Anderson, 6 caps, Club Eastwood NSW
13th man: Charlie Taylor, 7 caps, Club: Eastwood NSW

Australian Rugby Union

Related News

Behind the scenes with the winning Aussie Sharks

Behind the scenes with the winning Aussie Sharks

18 January 2019

The Australian men’s and women’s water polo teams delivered big wins for their local fans, claiming victories in the opening test matches against Japan in Brisbane on Thursday night.

Three months on - Relive Buenos Aires 2018

Three months on - Relive Buenos Aires 2018

17 January 2019

It’s been three months since 88 young athletes from 26 sports travelled to Buenos Aires to represent Australia at the Youth Olympic Games (YOG).

Aussie Spirit and Australia A teams selected for Asia Pacific Cup

Aussie Spirit and Australia A teams selected for Asia Pacific Cup

16 January 2019

Softball Australia have today announced the Aussie Spirit and Australia A teams set to compete in the 2019 Asia Pacific Cup at Blacktown International Sportspark from 31 January – 3 February.