• Home
  • News
  • Aussie Spirit and Australia A teams selected for Asia Pacific Cup

Aussie Spirit and Australia A teams selected for Asia Pacific Cup

16 January 2019

SOFTBALL: Softball Australia have today announced the Aussie Spirit and Australia A teams set to compete in the 2019 Asia Pacific Cup at Blacktown International Sportspark from 31 January – 3 February.

Two teams have been selected following the 2019 Open Women’s National Softball Championship, where the New South Wales Firestars completed an undefeated week to win their third straight Gilley’s Shield.

Aussie Spirit Head Coach Laing Harrow will oversee both Australian teams ahead of what is an important year for Australian Women’s softball.

“After personally attending the Gilley’s Shield last week in Perth, we’ve selected what we believe to be two teams made up of the best women’s softball talent in the country,” said Harrow speaking on behalf of the Australian team selectors.

“Every opportunity we can get for our players to compete against international talent is incredibly important, so we’re looking forward to seeing how we measure up in what will be our first international fixture of the year.”

The Aussie Spirit and Australia A teams will face off against New Zealand, Italy, Chinese Taipei, China and defending champions and the world number two ranked women’s softball team Japan in this country’s premier international softball tournament.

The players from the two teams will also form part of the six teams to compete in the inaugural The Summer Slam – Fully Loaded Softball Series, an innovative new tournament which encourages exciting play by beginning with bases loaded and home run fences brought in closer to the diamond.

They will be joined by a number of international players with the full six teams to be announced in the coming days.

“The Summer Slam is again going to give us more valuable game time and give us a lot of opportunities to see how our team will take shape over the next 12 months,” added Harrow.

“Even though it’s not your traditional format, it’s still time on the diamond that will give us a good picture of where we’re at.”

Today’s team announcement follows on from the news that the Aussie Spirit will compete as the Aussie Peppers of Minnesota in the 2019 National Pro Fastpitch season in the United States, another crucial opportunity to compete at the elite level for Australia’s national team.

The Aussie Spirit team will feature one new face with New South Wales Firestar Tahli Moore receiving her first official Australian cap.

The final day of the Asia Pacific Cup will be broadcast live on FOX SPORTS Australia from 11:00am AEDT and you can purchase tickets for the event HERE

Aussie Spirit

Michelle Cox (NSW)
Chelsea Forkin (QLD)
Leigh Godfrey (WA)
Amber Johnson (WA)
Shannon Keevers (NSW)
Rachel Lack (NSW)
Verity Long-Droppert (WA)
Tahli Moore (NSW)
Kaia Parnaby (NSW)
Leah Parry (WA)
Stacey Porter (NSW)
Ellen Roberts (NSW)
Jessica Torpey (QLD)
Taylah Tsitsikronis (NSW)
Clare Warwick (ACT)
Tamieka Whitefield (QLD)

Australia A

Ilsa Anstey (VIC)
Janice Blackman (QLD)
Tabitha Callander (WA)
Madeline Cameron (SA)
Sandra Holden (QLD)
Jordan Lambert (SA)
Stacey McManus (NSW)
Jayme Reddacliff (QLD)
Chelsea Robinson (SA)
Carmelle Sorensen (QLD)
Brooke Spence (QLD)
Jade Wall (QLD)
Taylah Welch (QLD)
Belinda White (SA)

Softball Australia

Related News

Tahli Moore - The curveball that changed my life

Tahli Moore - The curveball that changed my life

23 April 2019

Softballer Tahli Moore was on the cusp of reaching the prime of her career, before she was dealt both a career and life-threatening blow, leaving the game she loved, completely off-limits.

National Swimming Champs wrap up as legends go back in time

National Swimming Champs wrap up as legends go back in time

17 April 2019

The 2019 National Swimming Championships ended with a bang when Australian Olympians spanning several decades came together for the Legends Relay, finalising a record-breaking competition with some exciting nostalgia

Fox continues unbeaten C1 run at Pyrenees Cup

Fox continues unbeaten C1 run at Pyrenees Cup

16 April 2019

Australia’s Canoe Slalom Olympians set an early mark ahead of the 2019 World Cup and Olympic qualification season with dual Olympic medallist and reigning C1 World Champion and 2018 World Cup winner Jessica Fox continuing her record-breaking unbeaten run in the women’ C1, while Rio Olympian Lucien Delfour finished second in the men’s K1 at the Pyrenees Cup in Spain over the weekend.

Related Games

Tokyo 2020

Tokyo 2020

Related Sports



Related Olympians

Stacey Porter
Stacey Porter

Stacey Porter