• Home
  • News
  • 2018 Australian National Surfing Squad announced

2018 Australian National Surfing Squad announced

12 March 2018

SURFING: Off the back of Surfing Australia’s Olympic Readiness Camp in January, where Australia’s top surfing athletes deemed most likely to be in contention for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games spent three days together, a consolidated group of 16 athletes have now been named in the 2018 Australian National Squad.

The squad was selected by the Surfing Australia National Selection Committee, which includes 7 x World Champion Layne Beachley, 4 x World Champion Mark Richards, ex WSL surfer and Talent Pathway Coach Kate Wilcomes, 3 x World Champion Mick Fanning and Surfing Australia Elite Program Manager Bede Durbidge.

Surfing Australia Elite Program Manager Bede Durbidge said: “It gave me great pleasure to announce this incredibly talented Australian National Squad at the Surfing Australia Awards on Tuesday night on the Gold Coast.

"With the World Surf League World Championship Tour season about to kick-start this weekend at Snapper Rocks we at Surfing Australia want to support this squad as best we can to achieve their goals.”

Surfing Australia National High Performance Director Kim Crane said: “This group of athletes are already making their mark on the international stage, and the character and courage they display in their quest to become world’s best is an absolute credit to them.

"As a sport, we are grateful to have such incredible role models, and in identifying this group as our highest priority, we will do whatever we can to support their journey.”

Surfing Australia CEO Andrew Stark said: “The talent pool is a deep one in Australia and it was extremely tough for the selection panel to narrow the squad down, to the 16 athletes we have announced.

"These athletes are deemed most likely to represent Australia in the Japan 2020 Olympics and we look forward to working with them on their quest for WSL Tour victory and towards Japan 2020 Gold Medals.”

The Squad was unveiled at the Australian Surfing Awards on the Gold Coast

2018 Australian National Squad:

Julian Wilson - QLD

Matt Wilkinson - NSW

Owen Wright - NSW

Connor O’Leary - NSW

Adrian Buchan - NSW

Wade Carmichael - NSW

Mikey Wright - NSW

Ethan Ewing - QLD

Stuart Kennedy - NSW

Tyler Wright - NSW

Stephanie Gilmore - QLD

Sally Fitzgibbons - NSW

Nikki van Dijk - VIC

Keely Andrew - QLD

Bronte Macaulay - WA

Macy Callaghan – NSW

Surfing Australia

Related News

Tahli Moore - The curveball that changed my life

Tahli Moore - The curveball that changed my life

23 April 2019

Softballer Tahli Moore was on the cusp of reaching the prime of her career, before she was dealt both a career and life-threatening blow, leaving the game she loved, completely off-limits.

National Swimming Champs wrap up as legends go back in time

National Swimming Champs wrap up as legends go back in time

17 April 2019

The 2019 National Swimming Championships ended with a bang when Australian Olympians spanning several decades came together for the Legends Relay, finalising a record-breaking competition with some exciting nostalgia

Fox continues unbeaten C1 run at Pyrenees Cup

Fox continues unbeaten C1 run at Pyrenees Cup

16 April 2019

Australia’s Canoe Slalom Olympians set an early mark ahead of the 2019 World Cup and Olympic qualification season with dual Olympic medallist and reigning C1 World Champion and 2018 World Cup winner Jessica Fox continuing her record-breaking unbeaten run in the women’ C1, while Rio Olympian Lucien Delfour finished second in the men’s K1 at the Pyrenees Cup in Spain over the weekend.

Related Games

Tokyo 2020

Tokyo 2020

Related Sports