2015 Rowing Team Announced

9 March 2015

ROWING: Rowing Australia has announced the Senior Australian Team that will compete in 2015.

Crews have been selected to represent Australia at the 2015 World Rowing Cup 2 (Varese, Italy), World Rowing Cup 3 (Lucerne, Switzerland) and the 2015 World Rowing Championships (Aiguebelette, France). However, subject to results at the first two events (WRC 2 and 3), selectors will continuously review crews and their performances before final confirmation of the 2015 World Rowing Championships team.

The squad includes 2014 World Championships medallists and London Olympians Kimberley Crow, Joshua Dunkley-Smith, Sally Kehoe and James McRae, while Olympic medallists Karsten Forsterling and Matthew Ryan return to the senior team for the first time since the London 2012 Olympic Games.

Meanwhile, Olympic gold medallist David Crawshay returns to the sculling ranks in the Men’s Quadruple scull joined by David Watts, Cameron Girdlestone and Forsterling.

A number of 2014 World Rowing Championship medallists are back in the team this year, including double World Rowing Champions Erik Horrie (ASM1x), Kathryn Ross and Gavin Bellis (both TAMix2x) plus bronze medallists Kehoe and Olympia Aldersey (both W2x) as well as Alexander Belonogoff and McRae (both M2x).

The team also sees a number of rowers stepping up from the U23 category including 2014 U23 World Rowing Championship silver medallists Nick Wheatley and Jack Hargreaves, plus 2014 U23 World Championship bronze medallist Genevieve Horton.

Wheatley and Hargreaves will compete in the Men’s Coxless Pair this season, while Horton will be joined by Molly Goodman in the Women’s Pair.

The Lightweight Women’s Quadruple Scull, the Women’s Coxed Eight and the LTA Mixed Coxed Four are listed as trialling squads in this release and are subject to further scrutiny.

Keen historians will also note the inclusion of a number of athletes whose parents have represented Australia. Rosemary ‘Rosie’ Popa’s parents, Susan Chapman-Popa and Ion Popa have both represented Australia at an Olympics with Susan winning a bronze in the Women’s Coxed Four in the 1984 Los Angeles Olympic Games. Madeleine Edmunds’ (W4x) father, Ian, was also in the 1984 Los Angeles Olympics, winning bronze in the Men’s Coxed Eight.

The Men’s Four has seen two new crew members join 2014 representatives Alexander Lloyd and Spencer Turrin. South Australian Alexander Hill and London 2012 silver medallist William Lockwood will make up the Men’s Coxless Four this year with Lloyd and Turrin.

Fergus Pragnell and Joshua Dunkley-Smith, who won bronze in the Men’s Four last year in Amsterdam at the 2014 World Rowing Championships, have been selected into the Men’s Coxed Eight, joined by Joshua Booth, Matthew Ryan, Samuel Hookway, Nicholas Purnell, Scott Laidler, James Chapman and coxswain David Webster; the crew will be coached by Tim McLaren.

High Performance Director, Chris O’Brien: “This year’s World Rowing Championships are the primary qualification mechanism for the 2016 Rio Olympic Games.

“We are excited by a number of crews that have been selected which include a healthy mix of Olympic and World Championships medallists together with athletes who have come through the Under 23 and US athlete pathways.”

2015 Australian Rowing Team

Boat type, athlete and coach Athlete Club/ Athlete State - Athlete SIS/SAS
Women’s Scull
Women’s Single Scull
Kimberley Crow
Coach – Lyall McCarthy
Melbourne University BC/VIC – NTC-Canberra
Women’s Double Scull
Olympia Aldersey
Sally Kehoe
Coach – Jason Lane
Adelaide RC/SA – SASI
Sydney Uni Women’s RC/QLD – SASI
Women’s Quadruple Scull
Jennifer Cleary
Jessica Hall
Kerry Hore
Madeleine Edmunds
Coach – Tom Westgarth

Women’s Scull Reserve
Fiona Albert
Mercantile RC/VIC – VIS
Brisbane & GPS/QLD – QAS
Commercial RC/QLD – QAS

Mercantile RC/QLD - VIS
Women’s Lightweight Double Scull
Alice McNamara
Ella Flecker
Coach – Mark Fangen-Hall
Melbourne University BC/VIC – VIS
Huon RC/TAS – NTC-Canberra
Women’s Lightweight Quadruple Scull (SQUAD – further trialling)
Laura Dunn
Sarah Pound
Maia Simmonds
Georgia Miansarow
Georgia Nesbitt
Coach – Ellen Randell

University of WA/WA – NTC-Canberra
Mosman RC/NSW – NTC-Canberra
Men’s Scull
Men’s Double Scull
Alexander Belonogoff
James McRae
Coach – Rhett Ayliffe
Sydney University BC/NSW – SASI
Murray Bridge RC/SA – SASI
Men’s Quadruple Scull
Cameron Girdlestone
David Crawshay
David Watts
Karsten Forsterling
Coach – John Driessen
Sydney University BC/NSW – NSWIS
Mercantile RC/VIC – VIS
Swan River RC/WA – NTC-Canberra
Melbourne University BC/VIC – VIS
Huon RC
Women’s Sweep
Women’s Coxless Pair
Molly Goodman
Genevieve Horton
Coach – Bill Tait
Adelaide RC/SA – NTC Canberra
Women’s Coxed Eight (SQUAD – further trialling)
Alexandra Hagan
Charlotte Sutherland
Hannah Vermeersch
Katrina Bateman
Meaghan Volker
Renee Chatterton
Rosemary Popa
Sophie Sutherland
Jessie Allen
Lucy Stephan
Sarah Banting ©
Coach – Andrew Randell

Swan River RC/WA – WAIS
Mercantile RC/VIC – NTC-Canberra
Mercantile RC/VIC
Buckingham RC/TAS
Adelaide RC/SA – SASI
Banks RC/VIC
Mercantile RC/VIC
Mosman RC/NSW – NTC-Canberra
Melbourne University BC/VIC – NTC-Canberra
Mercantile RC/VIC
Men’s Sweep
Men’s Coxless Pair
Jack Hargreaves
Nicholas Wheatley
Coach – Thomas Laurich
Sydney University BC/NSW – NTC-Canberra
Sydney University BC/NSW – NTC-Canberra
Men’s Coxless Four
Alexander Hill
Alexander Lloyd
Spencer Turrin
William Lockwood
Coach – Simon Cox
Adelaide RC/SA – NTC-Canberra
Sydney RC/NSW – NTC-Canberra
Sydney RC/NSW – NTC-Canberra
Melbourne University BC/VIC – NTC Canberra
Men’s Coxed Eight
Fergus Pragnell
James Chapman
Joshua Dunkley-Smith
Joshua Booth
Matthew Ryan
Nicholas Purnell
Samuel Hookway
Scott Laidler
David Webster ©
Coach – Timothy McLaren
Sydney University BC/NSW – VIS
Mercantile RC/VIC – VIS
Melbourne University BC/VIC – VIS
Sydney University BC/NSW -VIS
Sydney University BC/NSW – NSWIS
Melbourne University BC/VIC
Dutton Park RC/QLD – NTC-Canberra
Melbourne University BC/VIC – VIS
Men’s Lightweight Coxless Four
Darryn Purcell
Nicholas Silcox
Perry Ward
Timothy McDonnell
Coach – Brett Crow
Toowong RC/QLD – TIS
Toowong RC/QLD – TIS
Swan River/WA – WAIS
Toowong RC/QLD
Para-Rowing – Arms, Shoulders Men’s Single Scull
Erik Horrie
Coach – Jason Baker

Sydney RC
Para-Rowing – Trunk and Arms Mixed Double Scull
Gavin Bellis
Kathryn Ross
Coach – Gordon Marcks

Powerhouse RC/VIC – NTC-Canberra
ANU/VIC – NTC-Canberra
Para-Rowing – Legs, Trunk and Arms Mixed Coxed Four (SQUAD – further trialling)
Cameron Crombie
Jeremy McGrath
Kathleen Murdoch
Kathleen O’Kelly-Kennedy
Sara Waitzer
Josephine Burnard
Coach – Gordon Marcks

Canberra RC/ACT – ACTAS
Balmain RC/NSW – NSWIS
West Australian RC/WA
Tasmania University BC/TAS
Mosman RC/NSW


Related News

Share your great grassroots moments and we'll #GiveThatAGold

Share your great grassroots moments and we'll #GiveThatAGold

21 May 2019

We can’t all win Olympic gold, but millions of you display the Olympic values within your local sporting community every week. Now you could win a $250 ASICS voucher for your effort.

Aussie athletes claim victory across the globe

Aussie athletes claim victory across the globe

20 May 2019

Australia's athletes continued their strong run of success, finding the podium at several events over the weekend and pushing for more this week.

Pearson leads the charge for the Aussies in Asia

Pearson leads the charge for the Aussies in Asia

20 May 2019

A group of Aussies have been in good form across the weekend in two meets in Asia. On Saturday, Shanghai hosted the second leg of the Diamond League circuit, while on Sunday, Osaka was the venue for the Seiko Golden Grand Prix.

Related Sports