Graeme Brown

1979 –

At Athens 2004, three-time Olympian (Sydney, Athens, Beijing) Graeme Brown joined Russell Mockridge (Helsinki) and Ryan Bayley (Athens) as the only cyclists to win two cycling gold medals at one Olympic Games. Brown combined with Brett Lancaster, Bradley McGee, Luke Roberts, Peter Dawson (preliminaries) and Stephen Wooldridge (preliminaries) to give Australia its first win in the team pursuit since Los Angeles 1984. In the intervening years, the Australian teams in this event had many successes at the Commonwealth Games and world championships, set world records and had won medals, but not gold, at all Olympic Games except Sydney. In the Madison at the Greek capital, Brown and Stuart O’Grady repeated the victory of Brett Aitken and Scott McGrory from 2000.

Mark Renshaw was originally chosen to partner Brown in the madison but was replaced by O'Grady. The Australians had accumulated enough laps and sprint points to have the race in their keeping, apart from a disastrous crash, with many of the 200 laps still to be completed.

Olympic Results

2008 Beijing

4000m Team Pursuit - Men
Qualifying Round BOBRIDGE, J; JAMIESON, M; McGEE, B; ROBERTS, L 4:02.041 3rd
Final 1-2
First Round BOBRIDGE, J; BROWN, G; JAMIESON, M; McGEE, B NED 3:58.633 Win
Final 3-4 BOBRIDGE, J; BROWN, G; JAMIESON, M; ROBERTS, L NZL 3:59.006 Loss
Final Placing 4 / 10

2004 Athens

4000m Team Pursuit - Men
First Round BROWN, G; LANCASTER, B; McGEE, B; ROBERTS, L LTU 3:56.610 Win
Final 1-2 BROWN, G; LANCASTER, B; McGEE, B; ROBERTS, L GBR 3:58.233 Win
Qualifying Rounds BROWN, G; DAWSON, P; LANCASTER, B; WOOLDRIDGE, S 4:00.613 1st
Final Placing 1 / 10
Madison - Men
Final 22 1st
Final Placing 1 / 18

2000 Sydney

4000m Team Pursuit - Men
Quarterfinal AITKEN, B; BROWN, G; McGEE, B; ROGERS, M GER 4:03.209 Loss
Qualifying AITKEN, B; BROWN, G; LANCASTER, B; ROGERS, M 4:06.361 5th
Final Placing 5 / 12