• Home
  • News
  • Men's hockey squad named for Champions Trophy

Men's hockey squad named for Champions Trophy

30 May 2016

HOCKEY: The Australian men's hockey team that will play at the Champions Trophy in London, the last major tournament before the 2016 Rio Olympic Games, was announced today.

The 18 man squad features high profile players including Tim Deavin, Simon Orchard and Eddie Ockenden; and also sees the return of veteran Glenn Turner who has been absent from competition so far this year.

Notably absent from the squad is captain Mark Knowles who will remain in Perth for the birth of his third child. A number of other athletes, including experienced trio Jamie Dwyer, Fergus Kavanagh and Matt Gohdes are rested as coach Graham Reid looks to manage the load on his athletes during a high intensity period of competition and training.

Tasmanian Josh Beltz has been selected for the squad in his first major international after stellar performances during the recent tournament against Great Britain.

Kookaburras Head Coach, Graham Reid said: “The Champions Trophy is being used to manage the load of a number of our players, and to provide the last opportunity for other players vying for Olympic selection.

“The objective of 2016 has been to get as many players as possible up to the level where they are in the mix for the team going to Rio.”

KOOKABURRAS CHAMPIONS TROPHY FIXTURES
Friday June 10, AUS v GBR: 6pm BST / 1am AWST (Saturday 11) / 3am AEST (Saturday 11)
Saturday June 11, AUS v KOR: 6pm BST / 1am AWST (Sunday 12) / 3am AEST (Sunday 12)
Monday June 13, AUS v GER: 2pm BST / 9.00pm AWST / 11.00pm AEST
Tuesday June 14, AUS v BEL: 8pm BST / 3am AWST (Wednesday 15) / 5am AEST (Wednesday 15)
Thursday June 16, AUS v IND: 4pm BST / 11.00pm AWST / 1am AEST (Friday 17)
Friday June 17, TBC

KOOKABURRAS SQUAD
Athlete (Hometown) Caps/Goals
Daniel Beale (Brisbane, QLD) 75/15
Josh Beltz (Hobart, TAS) 9/2
Andrew Charter (Canberra, ACT) 110/0
Chris Ciriello (Melbourne, VIC) 186/114
Tom Craig (Lane Cove, NSW) 24/9
Matthew Dawson (Killarney Vale, NSW) 41/7
Tim Deavin (Launceston, TAS) 126/6
Blake Govers (Wollongong, NSW) 26/24
Jeremy Hayward (Darwin, NT) 54/17
Tyler Lovell (Perth, WA) 66/0
Trent Mitton (Perth, WA) 88/33
Eddie Ockenden (Hobart, TAS) 272/64
Simon Orchard (Maitland, NSW) 197/56
Matthew Swann (Mackay, QLD) 135/6
Glenn Turner (Goulburn, NSW*) 124/90
Tristan White (Wollongong, NSW) 75/3
Dylan Wotherspoon (Murwillumbah, NSW**) 23/6
Aran Zalewski (Margaret River, WA) 86/10

Hockey Australia

Related News

Softball Australia introduces

Softball Australia introduces "The Summer Slam - Fully Loaded Softball"

19 November 2018

After having their sport reintroduced to the Olympic Programme for the first time in 10 years, Australian Softball has upped the ante, announcing an innovative and world-leading new competition today.

Weekend Wrap - spectacles for home fans and green and gold victories afar

Weekend Wrap - spectacles for home fans and green and gold victories afar

19 November 2018

While Australian sporting fans were treated to the Socceroos, the Diving Grand Prix and the Golf Aus Open on home soil this weekend, the Hockeyroos and female boxers having been donning the green and gold with pride on the international stage.

NSWIS awards celebrate the best of 2018

NSWIS awards celebrate the best of 2018

16 November 2018

This year’s highest achieving athletes, coaches and support staff have been honoured at the 2018 NSW Institute of Sport (NSWIS) Awards held at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Related Games

Rio 2016

Rio 2016

Related Sports

Hockey

Hockey